Autumn

I’m starting this blog during a time of year when smell is often the first thing people reference, even though they don’t realize it. Crisp autumn days are one of the many reasons that this is the favorite season of many, but what makes them crisp has as much to do with scent as with temperature.

My favorite smells of the season are that bit of indian summer’s warmth combined with the smell of crops that have been harvested or gone to seed, the powdery smell of concord grapes, the undefinable scent that means “hallowe’en” which this year I’ll try hard to categorize, and the smell of chalk dust from the first erased blackboards of the school year. Eagerness and new beginnings are what typify this season for me.

About Samantha

Samantha Soma is an erstwhile aromatherapist, collects vintage and modern perfumes, and is in love with the sense of smell. She lives in the Northwest, which means that books, coffee, wine, beer, and humidity play large roles in her personal experience.
This entry was posted in environment, seasonal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn

  1. envirogrrl says:

    Mmm, I agree. I love autumn. What gets me is that spicy, dusky, dry scent of fallen leaves mixed with the hot scent of new-mown hay in the sun. And of course, the smell of cold rain and apples. And spiced, sweet baked things. Yum.

    This is a good idea for a blog; it intrigues me. I’m going to add you to my blogroll, so keep it up!

  2. sotd says:

    Yum – baked goods…

    I’ll definitely be writing posts about spices in the future – it’s interesting that autumn and winter are the main spicy seasons (in the Northern Hemisphere, anyway). Thanks so much for your comment and the link! I’ll be writing a post tomorrow that’s inspired by your site.

Leave a Reply

