Clove Cigarette

A bittersweet mixture of Knott’s Berry Farm at night, ripe with the promise of cruising, anonymous teenagers (although I was usually the “friend” in that scenario), and the disastrous Halloween party I attended in high school, when what I didn’t know about the guy I’d been giggling with in the corner all night blew up in my face, in the form of his late-arriving, angry, tear-stained girlfriend. I fled the party in shame, remorseful and angry that I wasn’t able to resolve what I felt was an innocent misunderstanding.

Today, the sweet smell begs to be inhaled deeply, even as the warning that “smoking cloves makes holes in your lungs” claxons away in my head. The mixture of youthful insouciance, anticipation, and hyperintensity is a heady one–practically worthy of reformulating as incense, except that the accompanying entwined emotions of excitement and remorse aren’t really a combination I’d willingly seek out for very long.

About Samantha

Samantha Soma is an erstwhile aromatherapist, collects vintage and modern perfumes, and is in love with the sense of smell. She lives in the Northwest, which means that books, coffee, wine, beer, and humidity play large roles in her personal experience.
This entry was posted in environment, herbal, made by humans. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clove Cigarette

  1. Shannon says:

    Knott’s is exactly what I think of every last time I catch of whiff of clove cigarettes.

  2. coldlight says:

    I just had a thought. The sense of ‘smell’ seems to recall the memories the easiest for me. I was walking through the city the other day and I caught a whiff of some perfume in the air, and then I immediately thought to myself ‘that was what my teacher in prep used to wear’!!

    I had a flash-back to a highschool party not long ago. It would have been around 2am and I was in the kitchen, beer in one hand and cigarette in the other. Pearl Jam was playing on the stereo – Better Man – everyone was waiting of the line ‘She loved him!’. Got to love those semi-drunk flash-backs.

    Excellent entry by the way…

  3. Samantha says:

    Thanks, coldlight!

    Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve been thinking about how many different things there are that can take us back to seemingly unremarkable places, which nevertheless made an impression that lives on years later. Your party description sounds like a perfect candidate – there’s something special about group memories made in the early morning hours.

  4. Samantha says:

    Shannon, glad to hear I’m not the only one, because it seemed like such a crazy association when it happened to me last week. With the first whiff, I was right back in the park, night falling, standing near the line for the log ride.

Leave a Reply

